Navigation
[deleted]
[deleted] - Back to back bookings
Back to back bookings
More than 100 posts
Posted: 2021-05-16 11:57:57

So I was chatting to another punter about this and he shared my feelings. A bit of a contentious topic, but I'd like to hear from both punters and SPs - and if it's been discussed to death before then let's get some fresh perspectives :P

So I had an appointment I was looking forward to with a newbie here, but I got immediately turned off when she told me that she had a booking right after me. I don't necessarily hold this against her, and I would still like to see her in the future, but this made me wonder how everyone feels venues and girls should go about scheduling appointments.

My experience with back-to-backs has never been good. The last 15 minutes or so of your time is spent worrying about the next guy. The SP has to get ready for him in time that you paid for, and then there's the whole hassle of trying to leave without bumping into one another. I've had one where a girl booked a back-to-back, and then the guy arrived early, so that became MY problem somehow.

I find when there's at least that little 15 min leeway there's enough time for a more natural interaction, and even things you didn't budget for. For example, just last night, time-management and punctuality from all involved were spot-on, but it turned out that when I was supposed to head off to the shower, it was in use. Because the girl/venue hadn't booked a back-to-back, this proved to be a non-issue, and I was able to hop into the shower and get a comfortable wash once it was no longer occupied.

These have also been my best experiences as well. The intent isn't necessarily to overstay the welcome, and I'm well-aware of how infuriating it can be for SPs when taken advantage of, but it's more about having a sense of ease in the closing minutes, one that caters for comfortable goodbyes and anything else that may go not go according to plan on our way out.